BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

When do you stop writing?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Sareesh Sudhakaran
When do you stop writing?
on Feb 21, 2013 at 11:14:24 am

I've been writing fictional scripts for fifteen years (both short and feature length).

This year, I'm getting into 2-5 minute corporate videos. I've been shooting these videos but have never had to deal with clients directly for the stories or scripts.

My problem is that I can get too creative for my own good. I know from experience that I can write a 5-minute script in a day (the labor part). And I also know that I can look at thousands of work available online to copy ideas or whatever.

Questions:

At what point should one stop writing a first draft for a 5 minute corporate video? How much time and effort do you put aside for this aspect of the business?

How do you deal with script nuances and inexperienced clients? E.g., if a client asks you to clarify a certain section of the script, how do you go about it without sounding like a textbook on calculus?

If these questions have been answered already, I will really appreciate links. Thanks for the help!

Get the Free Comprehensive Guide to Rigging ANY Camera - one guide to rig them all - DSLRs to Reds to the Arri Alexa.

Return to posts index

Mark Suszko
Re: When do you stop writing?
on Feb 21, 2013 at 2:19:18 pm

You stop when you think its as good as you can make it, or you run out of time, whichever comes first.

Then you edit it and edit it again. That's the more important part I think. Its okay to start with too much and then whittle it down.

Return to posts index

Sareesh Sudhakaran
on Feb 22, 2013 at 2:37:37 am

Thanks, Mark! It's the time factor that confuses me. How much time do you give yourself for a 5 minute video?