BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Designing an I.T./Video Convergence college degree

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jonathan CapraDesigning an I.T./Video Convergence college degree
by on Feb 4, 2013 at 5:27:17 pm

Not really sure where to post this. Didn't see any forums related to education... or any forums that pertained to I.T. convergence in the video/TV industry. I.T. also wasn't listed as a category in Jobs Wanted.

I never finished a bachelor's. I was lucky enough to attend college during the last good economy, and a lot of folks left school early to take available jobs then... as did I.

Back then I was a Systems Administrator for an ISP, but after the dot-com bubble burst, I went back to night school (non-degree) for television production. I've been a graphics designer and promo producer for a local 24-hour news operation for the last 10 years.

I'm going back to finish a bachelor's finally... through a program where I get to plan out my degree. I'd like it to be in Information Technology or Information Systems, but with some customization that will make me a better candidate for convergence jobs - that is, I.T. jobs in the TV/Video/Media settings.

There are two things I have to do right now as part of my degree-planning:

1) Find an ideal job listing for a position I'd imagine applying for after graduation and write a mock cover letter.

2) Research college programs elsewhere that offer courses in what I am looking to specialize in, so that we might tailor coursework that might emulate it. I am not sure what might be out there, or what form this might take? Study of video codec algorithms is one thing that comes to mind.