BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Day rates for starting Editors in New Orleans

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Bryan McClurg
Day rates for starting Editors in New Orleans
on Jan 15, 2013 at 11:00:34 am

Hi all,

I've been doing some research into this, and while I know it's probably a thread reposted to death around here, I wanted some opinion from the lovely people of CreativeCow about my personal situation.

I'm an editor fresh out of college from Ohio, VERY new to the scene, and moved down to New Orleans for film work, despite the heat and the bugs - and the fact that, from what I've heard, there isn't a lot of opportunity down here for editors like there is in LA or NY. Basically, I wanted to get some professionals' feedback on their day rates for film editing (bonus points from those residing in / have lived in NOLA for specific feedback, as I'm aware day rates differ from state to state).

I edit with FCP 7, After Effects 6, and I work off an iMac 27" 2.7GHz Quad-Core with 8GB ram, and a pair of M-Audio BX5 D2 speakers. I am still [obviously] working on building my editing suite, but at the moment I'm looking for work as an editor/asst. editor on: short films, low budget features, music videos, commercials...okay, basically anything that would benefit for someone striving for Film Editor.

Currently, I've been debating if $100/day is a good rate, with a 5 day week schedule. I'd be working at 8-10 hours a day. I've heard $150 is the lowest rate for some junior editors, but I don't know how things differ, especially for work down here in NOLA.

I hope I provided enough information for this kind of question (and if not, I will fill in more). Any insight is greatly appreciated! Thanks again guys.

Return to posts index

Chris Tompkins
Re: Day rates for starting Editors in New Orleans
on Jan 15, 2013 at 1:10:44 pm