BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Video Job Salaries

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Doug Carraway
Video Job Salaries
on Dec 6, 2012 at 5:57:51 pm

http://www.linkedin.com/jobs?viewJob=&jobId=4121683&trk=eml-anet_dig-b_prem...

Someone sent me the job posting above this morning. I've been working in a university environment for about 15 years now. I like to think I have skills, but don't have real-world (read: outside a somewhat cozy university environment) experience. No idea what the salary range is for positions like this or the other related posts linked at the bottom of that page.

So, how would you settle on what salary to request if no salary range is posted for something like this? I realize there's a lot of factors. It just seems too open ended for them not to give you an idea of what they had in mind.

Thanks for any thoughts.

Doug

Return to posts index

Mark Suszko
Re: Video Job Salaries
on Dec 6, 2012 at 10:22:01 pm

This is a six-figure job for certain: Producer, Director, Head Editor, Multimedia Producer and Author, Executive management of staff and budget, and high-profile National-level public corporate production work. Pllus a lot of internal not so glamorous training film type stuff.

Exactly *which* six figures is up for debate. But to do all that work, probably with a lot of overtime, AND afford to live close by in New York proper, one of the boroughs, or near Jersey... Not figuring any family costs.... Somewhere between 150K and 200K for a seriously qualified applicant that won't embarrass you, would be my guess.