BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Just starting out and not sure what to do!

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Brent HolmesJust starting out and not sure what to do!
by on Nov 29, 2012 at 4:05:31 am

Hello COW Team! If this is in the wrong place, feel free to bump it and call me an idiot n00b. Moving on...

I graduated from College last year with a shiny new Bachelor of Arts degree in Communication: Media Broadcasting. I immediately got a job at a summer camp as a videographer/counselor and was absolutely certain I could find a place to start working as an apprentice in the videography field.

One year later, and I've just finished out my second summer at the camp, and have not done any work in the field since. In the interim time I've been working part time jobs, applying for jobs on monster and, hooked up with one production company for a shoot as a PA that hasn't called on me since, and now am waiting for my College to call me back about a job as a Media Producer and Coordinator.

And I can't help but feel I'm missing something. Somewhere along the way I've lost any steam that I might have had post graduation, and I'm uncertain as to where to go or what to do.

So; that's my dilema. I'm asking as someone who wants to work as a professional, but needs a tiny nudge in the right direction. What should I avoid? What should I immediately jump on? The world is big, and my scope is small from inexperience.

Thank you all again,
Brent Holmes

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: Just starting out and not sure what to do!
by on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:09:23 pm

Brent, I had your same problem coming out of school, long time ago. I was too passive, expecting offers to come flying in with little effort on my part. I wasted about a year that way, by taking things too casually.