BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

What field of video should I major in?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jonathan WilsonWhat field of video should I major in?
by on Oct 19, 2012 at 5:22:26 am

Hey everyone, I hope it's okay to post this thread here. Business and Marketing was the most relevant topic I could find. I was hoping somebody could give me a few words of advice. I'm a 19 year old college freshman and I'm not sure if I chose the right major for me. I love creating and producing videos of all sorts, and I've been making videos since before I started high school nearly 6 years ago. I know that I want to produce video for a living so I decided to go with an EMP "Electronic Media Production" major, which focuses mainly on television and the production side of film making. This is great because I really enjoy shooting and directing, but recently I've realized that what I really love is working in post production, editing video and creating effects in AE and FCP. Text animations, lower 3rd titles, special effects, I just love making video graphics in general. I would really like to learn more about creating graphics and animations, but I wouldn't want to change to a graphic design major mainly because I would more than likely end up learning how to make digital art and still images rather than video. Do any of you guys know what kind of major I might be looking at here?

Even if I don't end up finding anything I'll be perfectly content with a degree in EMP, but if there is any other degree I could get that would help me get a job creating graphics or editing video exclusively, I would love to know about it.
I currently go to MTSU, Middle Tennessee State University, on the off chance that any of you know anything about my school.

Much appreciated!

Return to posts index