BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

How much should I charge?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Serge Z-LeninHow much should I charge?
by on Oct 9, 2012 at 5:57:46 pm

Hello community. I'm relatively new to the business of video editing and I'm seeking for you professional opinion.
How much would you charge for editing of 20 HD video segments which run 7min each. No graphic or sound effects. Just the editing part. Would you charge per project or per each video? Please help

Thank you

Return to posts index

Shane RossRe: How much should I charge?
by on Oct 9, 2012 at 7:30:28 pm

Hourly. I charge hourly. $175/hour...but those are LA rates. If I was in say Indiana, I might go $75-$100 an hour. That's for my time and my equipment time.

Unless the project goes longer than 2 weeks, then I charge daily. $750/day. If it goes 5 weeks or more, I charge weekly.

HOW LONG will it take to edit those? Dunno. How much source footage are we talking about? What was it shot on (ingest time)? How many notes does the client get to give on the edit? 7 min might take me a day (10 hours), or it might take me two days...depending on ingest time (which I could cut down on by using Premiere Pro), and how long it takes me to watch all the footage...if there is a script or if I need to do the creative editing decisions on my end.

Many many factors. But don't get locked into something like $500 per video. Because there might be a lot of footage, or the client might give feedback, and feedback, and more feedback, and with every hour spent on these, you earn less money.

Little Frog Post
Read my blog, Little Frog in High Def

Return to posts index

Nick GriffinRe: How much should I charge?
by on Oct 9, 2012 at 7:33:49 pm