BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Started a Startup Prod. Company - Hoping to Become Creative AD Director. Is this the Right Path?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Ankush KumarStarted a Startup Prod. Company - Hoping to Become Creative AD Director. Is this the Right Path?
by on Oct 8, 2012 at 9:16:39 pm

Hello! First, this is my first post on Creative Cow and I appreciate that there is such an amazing community of creatives helping each other in such a big way.

A little background: I graduated from USC's screenwriting program last year, and have since started my own small production company. I serve a very specific niche - I make short film advertisements for the luxury hospitality space. You can see an example of my work here: https://vimeo.com/44558188.

I've had some success. Since January, I've put in 35k to the company, shot for 7 hotels, and have so far gotten 2 "for-profit" contracts - 12k each, with about 4k profit on each, both in post now. This year, conservatively, if half of my potential contracts go through, I'll pull in about 70k in revenue, and hopefully be on the way to breaking even.

I did not start this company with the intention of making money (although I'd love to, obviously). Rather - I want to build my own portfolio as a writer/director/producer of short content. Ultimately, I want to join a creative agency as a commercial director (think http://www.epochfilms.com/).

Alternatively, I'd also love to become a Producer at a large creative agency. All of my favorite feature film directors have started out their careers doing short content (Walter Salles (granted he is a Billionaire), Inarritu, Phil Morrison). I have a fairly strong network of folks in the industry, and don't want to waste that as well.

So the questions:

• Am I on the right path?
  • What is the meaning of life?