BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Contemplating Self Employment

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Chris Warren
Contemplating Self Employment
on Sep 27, 2012 at 6:09:18 pm

Hello guys. For several years I have wanted to move into the self employment world and feel like I am very close to making the final jump(and quit my full time job) I have been reading a lot of threads on the forums here and thought I might throw this out to the community and see what advice, suggestions, or thoughts some of you experienced folks may have to offer.

Let me give you an idea of my situation: I am a full-time single dad, I work full time as a video editor, and I am constantly busy with freelance projects.
About 8 moths ago I left a job that I absolutely loved for a job with a bigger paycheck. I find this current job very mundane, unfulfilling, and somewhat soul crushing. The idea was that I could use the boost in income in order to beef up my video equipment, and after about a year or so, quit and go Freelance full-time.

Here are some of the factors
-I am tired of working 60+ hours per week and want to work at home and spend more time with my daughter.
-I will kill myself(and probably others) if I have to go to a 9-5 and sit in an office
-I love the freelance work I do, especially getting out to do location stuff
-My daughter is 10, loves helping me out, and dreams of working with me when she gets older (she shoots and edits her own projects now)

Although I obviously want to be successful, financial gain is not the main goal - freedom is. I am simply looking to achieve a peaceful balance in my life by enjoying what I do, and spending time with my daughter. I don't need a large home or larger vehicle to be happy. Sure I fantasize about someday opening my own business/studio but not at the expense of my sanity.