BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Question about the legal aspect of Facebook and professional photographers taken of you.

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Donell HallQuestion about the legal aspect of Facebook and professional photographers taken of you.
by on Aug 14, 2012 at 1:15:38 am

Here is my question, I have been working in TV/Film for 10 years on the video side of things so I am a little rusty on the Photo side of things.

I recently got married and of course hired a professional photographer to capture the event. Here is my problem, although we signed off on her being able to use any photo each takes as promotional material and portfolio which is fine, I do the same thing on the video side. I am although extremely concerned by the fact that, portfolio apparently means post over 60 photos of my personally wedding day on a 3rd party, for profit company website that in turns claims to own every image that is upload to their site.

Hell a handful of picture I would have been fine with but we are over half way to a hundred pictures online and I dont know what her privacy settings are, I dont know how each is operating her facebook account, she could get drunk one night and make a crazy post that now as our wedding pictures attached to it.

I have not asked her to take them down yet as I didnt know they existed until my wife showed me today but I want to find out more information on this subject before hand. I legally gave her the right to use our photo's in their companies promo but facebook is not owned by their company and it seems to be that she just broke that contract by giving the rights away to a very wonky company that has a history of less than stellar privacy issues.