BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Video Liabilities

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Emma KayVideo Liabilities
by on Jul 13, 2012 at 6:34:00 pm

I'm a video production student who is fairly new to the field. I'm starting a project that will be for me personally and that I will also enter into a production company's contest. After I submit the video to the contest, the production company may publish my work on their website/social media/youtube. The video will be done in a location such as a city, neighborhood, etc. and potentially have an interview or two with people familiar with the area. I'm concerned I may be in trouble if I do not get the right clearances/documents for my locations/potential interviews. I don't know much about what is legal versus illegal when shooting on-location without a permit (particularly if the permit costs $$ or if a permit is needed for all locations).

I'll be filming in the Virginia/DC area. I've researched the film offices to find out more information but I am confused about the regulations considering I am not using the video for profit, I'm a student [but this is not for school], and I'm a small crew [it's myself and a friend or two].

Any advice about what is legal and what isn't legal for my situation is greatly appreciated!

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: Video Liabilities
by on Jul 13, 2012 at 8:01:51 pm