BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Freelance Video Editing Questions

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Carolynn NguyenFreelance Video Editing Questions
by on Jun 5, 2012 at 12:28:13 am

Hi all!

I recently just graduated from a film program. I majored in post-production and have experience as an assistant picture editor and as a picture editor on several projects both in school and outside of school.

I want to get started in the film industry through editing jobs, however I haven't had any luck finding a job with a company. I would like to try freelance video editing.

I'm a beginner at video editing, so I can mostly just cut footage, sync video and audio, and other basic tasks. I can work on a variety of softwares for editing. I don't have much experience with special effects though.

So I have a few questions...

What should I charge, since I can do basic editing? I was thinking $15 - $20 per hour, working at only 4 or 5 hour intervals... is that too little or too much based on my experience?
Do I need to make a written agreement for clients to sign? What should I include on it?
Where do you recommend meeting up with clients? I was thinking at a public library would be alright, since I prefer to be able to be comfortable with meeting with clients to discuss projects.
Sometimes I get email for people asking me to call them to discuss projects. Should I call them first? Or email them asking for details about the project first/have them call me instead?
Is there anything else I need to know about freelancing?

I know some of these questions might be redundant, but I honestly have no idea where I should begin...

Any help is appreciated! :)

Return to posts index

Scott SheriffRe: Freelance Video Editing Questions
by on Jun 5, 2012 at 2:30:43 am

[Carolynn Nguyen] "What should I charge, since I can do basic editing? I was thinking $15 - $20 per hour...