BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Reality TV Show Pilot - Artist Fee

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Nicholas CookReality TV Show Pilot - Artist Fee
by on May 2, 2012 at 2:15:02 am

I am an attorney who does not deal with a lot of television contracts for artists. I have a new client who has been approached by a production company to film a presentation for a reality tv show. I'm not sure of the market rate for these things and want to get your opinion.

How much is reasonable for just filming the pilot?
If it gets picked up by the network, what is a reasonable per episode fee?
If it gets picked up for a second season, what percentage is a reasonable increase?

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: Reality TV Show Pilot - Artist Fee
by on May 2, 2012 at 3:50:52 pm

Probably the best advice to give him or her, in their best interest, is to decline the task and put him or her in contact with an entertainment lawyer; these things are too specialized for a general practitioner.