BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Training videos billing

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jarrod CecilTraining videos billing
by on Apr 18, 2012 at 6:22:09 pm

I've seen various rates for training videos, but I thought I'd come here first for advice. The project is finished and I invested 13 hours of in-office screen capture and VO recording of their software running on virtual machines. Over 10 videos, I spent 25 hours editing them together with VO/EFX and BG music. I also spent another 5 hours transcoding and uploading said videos for their distribution.
I'm just not sure about rates bc I've never done this scope of project before. I work in the Metro Atlanta area and the client was a theater company with point of sale and back office terminals. They were very happy with the finished product. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Return to posts index

Todd TerryRe: Training videos billing
by on Apr 18, 2012 at 11:45:45 pm

Wait a sec... maybe I'm missing or misreading something, but are you asking how much to bill a client for a job that you've already completed for them??

Was your rate or the price for the job not discussed before you took the gig?

Seems to me that begs two different questions: 1) What kind of client would ever ask for so much work to be done for them without asking what it would cost? and 2) Who would ever do (and complete) a fairly sizable job like that without knowing how much they would be paid?

As I said, maybe I'm misreading that. I hope so.

Nonetheless, sounds like the cost would be just whatever your usual production rates for the location work at their place and the in-house post production at your place would be, times the hours. Just based on those rough numbers, that gig in our shop would be just a shade over $10K. Not including any music or other managed rights, if applicable.

T2

fantasticplastic.com