BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Contacting Companies for Jobs

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Chris TarrozaContacting Companies for Jobs
by on Mar 27, 2012 at 7:05:02 pm

I'm a video editor and motion graphics designer from Toronto. I've been working at a small ad agency for a year and am really hoping to move up to other, more experienced, studios in the city.

There are many great places in Toronto that produce amazing work, places where I would love to work. I'm wondering what is the best approach to contacting them. I'm hesitant to start cold-calling/emailing them but at the moment, that is my only option. I don't have many friends in the industry but I'm hoping to work on that in the near future by going to some meetup groups in the city.

I really want to move on from my current employment and actually work in a more accomplished studio. I'm currently the sole video editor at the place I work and you can only learn so much working alone!

If I do go with the cold-call/email route, maybe I shouldn't ask for a job straight off the bat, but maybe ask to visit the studio and take a peek. Just a thought.

So what's your take on cold-calling/emailing?

Return to posts index

Bob ZelinRe: Contacting Companies for Jobs
by on Apr 6, 2012 at 5:52:06 pm

be a man, and start cold calling. Everyone does it. Successful companies, packed with work, have their sales people make cold calls.
And this is what happens when you cold call - everyone says no. It's worse - you can't even get someone on the phone to say no to you. But you keep calling. And you keep getting rejected. And you toughen up, because when they keep hanging up on you, or say "send in your reel", it gets less painful when you keep making those calls.