BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

When a job goes on ... and on ...

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Rachel GormanWhen a job goes on ... and on ...
by on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:01:49 am

Just wondering how all of you handle those freelance jobs that just kind of go on indefinitely for months and then stop without notice. I've been freelancing in LA off-and-on for about 15 years, but this is a new thing I've only encountered since the recession hit. Before, if I ever worked a place for more than two or three months, I got hired.

I have had a couple clients who originally booked me for a few days or a week and extended the job one day at a time for up to nine months. After a few weeks they just assumed I would be there the next day. Then, one day they just asked me not to come back. I even had one client tell me to take Monday off and then was surprised when I came back on Tuesday -- after more then six months!

In all of these situations, there was no contract. They refused to give me even a rough estimate of duration, or offered a vague promise of full-time employment.

In the beginning I turned down other holds, then the other offers dried up as word got out I was unavailable.

Of course I'm happy to have the long-term gig but how do I get them to respect my time and at least give me a heads up when the job is ending?

Return to posts index

Craig SeemanRe: When a job goes on ... and on ...
by on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:55:14 am

[Rachel Gorman] "Of course I'm happy to have the long-term gig but how do I get them to respect my time and at least give me a heads up when the job is ending?"

By having a contract. By requiring them to book you in advance. If they don't have you booked than you're free to take other jobs. If they don't like that, they'll book you to ensure you're coming in that day.