BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

The big question....How much does it cost?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Grant WilberThe big question....How much does it cost?
by on Feb 4, 2012 at 9:38:42 pm

This is my first year doing video stuff and it's going decent. I'm getting to the point where I've got enough experience and am confident I'm not gonna screw up a shoot where I'm trying to get more competitive with prices. I'm not much of a salesman and worse, hate asking for money.

Most of the people I deal with are new to video and alot have 'no idea' for budgets. What are some tips or advice on giving people prices vs what they are going to get. If I tell someone I could do it for $500 cheaper but won't be able to rent more lens' or camera they are probably not gonna care although I know it could be a less effective video. Or if they are willing to pay more than what I had in mind I could bring in a lighting guy to make it more polished or bring in an editor who could do a better job coloring or animation.

When someone says they don't have a clue for budget what is your next step? Do you give them two or three prices. Do you explain the differences between quality and get into tech talk thats over their head? Or do you just give them a price for the video you think they will need and leave it up to them to know if it'll be worth it.

Return to posts index

Fernando MolRe: The big question....How much does it cost?
by on Feb 4, 2012 at 11:38:37 pm

Price is one of those things that make you unique. You know what kind of work you like to deliver, your quality and your costs. Finding your price is both a math problem and a testing process.

I hope this helps

Return to posts index

Craig SeemanRe: The big question....How much does it cost?
by on Feb 5, 2012 at 7:32:38 am

Here's the math part