BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Usage rights question

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jay WindlandUsage rights question
by on Feb 4, 2012 at 4:11:44 am

I am a freelance videographer, and have been working recently with a few national agencies/production companies that send me on local shoots. The arrangement is basically: they send me a shot list, I send them the footage, they send me a check. It has been a perfectly good arrangement so far, with the exception of the fact that per our contract, I have no usage rights to the footage I shoot, and thus cannot use it in my demo reel. So every time I shoot something that I'm really happy with, I kick myself because it will never make it to my reel. Has anyone else encountered this dilemma? Are there any alternatives I'm not looking at here? My understanding is that copyright law pertains to publication, and that I can privately distribute unpublished work that I have created, even if I don't have usage rights to publish it. Is this correct? If so, does it seem worthwhile to maintain a reel solely for private distribution that will never be able to be broadly published online? I'm open to suggestions or experience. Thanks.

Return to posts index

Jonathan ZieglerRe: Usage rights question
by on Feb 4, 2012 at 2:46:25 pm

I'm pretty sure this is a job for Lawyer Man! It will depend entirely on the wording of your contract and how it pertains to existing copyright law. I would go to your state's bar website, find a local IP attorney (ask for rates and see if they offer any sort of free consultation or if they can do a quick phone consultation). Maybe yes maybe no. Worse case, it's worth the couple extra bucks to find out right now from an expert rather than guess wrong for free. What is your time and footage worth?