BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Stuck for Ideas...

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Simon RoughanStuck for Ideas...
by on Jan 31, 2012 at 12:43:20 pm

I don't really know if this is the right forum, but I'm sure I've seen similar posts here in the past, so I'll give it a go.
I've hit a wall. I'm a commercial producer and I have a customer whos a regional transport company (buses, city trains etc). They want a 30-40 second spot produced. The customers brief was so undefined, I don't know where to start. They used those hated cliches like "Young", "Fresh", and "Dynamic", that a customer parrots when they don't know quite what look they want. When you ask for a defination in such circumstances, usually they are at a loss. I was waiting for the words "Pro-active" and "edgy", then I would of had a good excuse to lean over and slap him. But anyhoo...
The spot must show the cleanliness, the punctuality, good mannered and helpful passengers, and safety of riding with this company. In 30 seconds. With a budget of around €10,000. They also want it as a cinema spot, and to play at business meetings, trade fairs etc. And the want it witty. And fresh. And young. And Dynamic.
Has anyone got any good public transport anecdotes, or ideas that might translate into a spot?
that would be great. Usually I'm pretty good at this sort of thing. Maybe it's because my dealer is on vacation...

(just kidding).

Cheers and thanks for any help.

PS. Is there a forum for idea swapping, or some sort of creative help? Perhaps, Mr. Lindeboom, it is not such a bad idea?

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: Stuck for Ideas...
by on Jan 31, 2012 at 3:19:33 pm

I think I get it. They want it "hipstery".

A couple of means to do this: