BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

WebMastter Businesss

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Richard CardonnaWebMastter Businesss
by on Jan 7, 2012 at 7:28:51 pm

I am a producer editor for events and cable broadcast content. Thing are not as good as it was some years ago by I still make a living.

However I have been doing more and more web ended projects and many of my clients ask me if I could manage there social media (facebook,youtube...)

I Know the basics of this but i don't have a business model for this type of enterprise and would like info on how to structure and set rates.
Can anyone give me some advise?

I don't know if this is the correct forum, If not lead me to one that could answer my question.

Return to posts index

Nick GriffinRe: WebMastter Businesss
by on Jan 8, 2012 at 8:14:56 pm

First, yes. This is the ideal forum for discussing your question.

I don't see that there's much difference between being in the "webmaster" business and the post production business -- except for the fact that the post business requires that a much larger dollar amount of equipment needs to be maintained.

As you can read from any number of posters below and in the archives, you have to calculate what you personally need to live, what you need to save, what you need to have for recurring expenses (rent/mortgage, utilities, auto, accounting, legal, etc), what hardware/software configurations you need to keep current and last, but far from least, what you have to set aside for taxes.

Once you've added those up, come up with a realistic number of hours you can bill for in an average month (which does NOT include the time you'll spend marketing your services and doing general business stuff) then divide the costs by the hours to get a STARTING point for figuring out what your hourly, daily, weekly billing rate should be.