BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

What to charge for promotional video...

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Colton Lee
What to charge for promotional video...
on Dec 6, 2011 at 2:12:09 am

Hello everyone,

I have seen many posts such as this but I would like your opinion on what to charge hourly for the filming and editing of 2 videos such as these that will require after effects work. It is for a student business competition to be posted on their website.

I am a college student in the film program but I have been offering videography for 8 years.
According to my business plan I usually charge $150 an hour for camera equipment/filming and 50 an hour for editing...
I imagine it will require 3-4 hours of filming for each video.
I will have to use after effects to do some presentation like effects.
Does this seem reasonable? Overpriced? Under cut?
All posts are appreciated! Thanks!

-Colton Lee

Return to posts index

Jonathan Ziegler
Re: What to charge for promotional video...
on Dec 6, 2011 at 2:15:09 pm

Really, that depends on you. You are talking something like $800-900 for the whole job, about 8 hours of work + setup, equipment, deliverables, editing, post, etc. In both examples, the video work is okay (lighting is yellow/amber and backlit in the first and blown out in the second and has poor balance), but the post work is decent - see if you can wow them by doing better (underpromise/overdeliver). I think your price is good as long as you are getting some promotion time, full access to the businesses (and future clients) and they pay on time, but you will need to drive what you feel is a fair price - if you are happy and the client is happy, all is well.

Jonathan Ziegler
http://www.electrictiger.com/
520-360-8293

Return to posts index

Mark Suszko
on Dec 6, 2011 at 2:57:50 pm