BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Credit Card Merchant Account

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Greg BallCredit Card Merchant Account
by on Nov 8, 2011 at 9:05:48 pm

Anybody taking credit cards through a merchant account? We've been using PayPal, but have run into several instances where PayPal has not worked for some clients.

Figuring it's a good business strategy to make it easy for people to pay us, we're looking at merchant accounts like through Costco, or Merchant warehouse. However there are so many complaints about these companies that's it's scary!

Does anyone here have a recommendation? Thanks.

Return to posts index

Neil HurwitzRe: Credit Card Merchant Account
by on Nov 8, 2011 at 10:10:43 pm

I have been using PayPal's virtual terminal for a few years now
and have never had an issue. You don't even have to swipe the card or even be in your office, Just somewhere with an internet connection.
All you need is the card info and name and address.
I chose them because you only need one account for
MC,Visa,Discover and Amex
I bit pricey though at 30.00 bucks a month plus the percentage fee
Fairly good reporting too.

Return to posts index

Richard CooperRe: Credit Card Merchant Account
by on Nov 8, 2011 at 10:16:00 pm

We use

Takes VISA, AMEX, MasterCard and Discover.... Simple, take CC with your iPhone, iPad, Android, with or without card. (Swiping and manual number entry) they only charge, if memory serves correctly, 2.75% per transaction. I Have even used this with an international client (London based) over the phone with no problems.
Deposits (each transaction) the next day.

No monthly fees and/or hidden charges, and the card reader and iOS software are FREE.

Hope this helps!

Richard Cooper
FrostLine Productions, LLC
Anchorage, Alaska

Return to posts index