BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Invoicing Video/Editing Work That Is Pro Bono. . .

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Javier PimentelInvoicing Video/Editing Work That Is Pro Bono. . .
by on Oct 20, 2011 at 10:46:21 pm

I'm new to working as a freelancer/self employed and am looking into taking advantage of any write offs that I can. I am working for a company that is paying me and worked with another earlier in the year, but the majority of the work I have done has been "pro bono", though it's more like spec work, and I was wondering if it would be possible to write off my expenses (tape stock, meals, gas, etc) as well as a lap top purchased to replace the system I currently have to edit.

In the past years I just did free work and basically took a loss on those no pay gigs and wished that I could have at least recouped some of my expenses. Being very new to this, I have tried to do some research but really don't know what to look for. Any and all help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Return to posts index

Craig SeemanRe: Invoicing Video/Editing Work That Is Pro Bono. . .
by on Oct 20, 2011 at 11:57:46 pm

[Javier Pimentel] "I'm new to working as a freelancer/self employed and am looking into taking advantage of any write offs that I can. I am working for a company that is paying me and worked with another earlier in the year,"

Is this a hoppy or is this your profession?

[Javier Pimentel] " I have done has been "pro bono", though it's more like spec work,"

Pro Bono is what you might do for charities, under funded not for profits or sometimes for a creative project understanding that no one is likely to make money. It's not something you should ever do for for profit businesses IMHO.