BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Need advice quick!

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
shane jenny
Need advice quick!
on Sep 7, 2011 at 5:59:40 pm

I have to submit a very simple proposal to a design agency for a 30 second web commercial/intro video. Problem is, I'm a wedding videographer and haven't had a real commercial job.

All they want is want is a simple breakdown of the services we are going to provide, and I don't have the slightest clue how to word it.

If someone would help me put together something very simple or point me in the right direction. We're basically providing two DSLR cameras (5d mkii & 7D), lighting and audio equipment and doing all the editing.

Thanks!

"Just along for the ride"

Return to posts index

Steve Martin
Re: Need advice quick!
on Sep 7, 2011 at 6:21:51 pm

So is the agency providing all the creative (i.e concept, storyboards, script, graphic elements, etc...)? Any pre-production (i.e shot planning, location scout/permitting, production coordination, casting, etc...) on your part?

I ask, because if they are handling all these elements, all you're really doing is providing "below the line" technical services and it's pretty easy to put together a proposal/estimate:

X numbers of days for equipment at $??/day
Camera operator @ $??/day
Audio Engineer@ ??/day
Gaffer @ ??/day
other crew @ ??/day
X number of hours editing @ ??/hour

and so on... you can break each line item down as much (or as little) as you want/need to depending on the complexity of the project.

Make sure you (and your client) understand who is directing the shoot and making final creative decisions. If it's them, that's not to say that you don't have input and make suggestions - but ultimately it's their show and their responsibility.