BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Turning a hobby into a career

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Adam McDermottTurning a hobby into a career
by on Aug 16, 2011 at 5:04:51 pm

Hello All,

My name is Adam and I'm a fledgling videographer.

I am not a professional videographer by any means and have no professional training, but I have taught myself the basics of videography and have a strong interest in developing some sort of career out of the video arts.

I myself am a cook/chef at a restaurant in Baltimore with a background in Journalism.

I'm basically just reaching out to anyone with a good eye for editing/creating professional videos. I have aspirations of elbowing my way into the video field. I have a lot of experience with cooking, so I think I can produce some pretty cool instructional cooking videos. But I also have a background in journalism and would like at some point to do some short documentary type videos, possibly I can pitch my services as a supplement to newsprint journalists in the style of TimesCast by the New York Times.

Like I said, I don't have any training. I was wondering if anyone has any advice on how to turn my hobby into more of a career?

Also, if you've got a minute, maybe you could watch my short video and give me some feedback? It's located on my website: (the one on the egg sandwich is my most recent). I know the lighting is off as I don't have a light kit, and I'm also short a tripod, but overall once those things are corrected, I'm happy with the format and potential of this type of video. I'm hoping to complete a slew of these in the upcoming weeks. That's the plan anyhow.

Many thanks for any tips you might have!

Have a good day,

Adam McD.

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: Turning a hobby into a career
by on Aug 17, 2011 at 2:25:45 pm