BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Asked to steal

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
wiremu harpuka
Asked to steal
on Aug 12, 2011 at 4:32:01 pm

Hi there
I wanted to ask (and also vent) about acquisition issues. I am a freelance editor and in the past 4 weeks have been asked to steal audio for clients.
Both times it has been put another way and both times some feeble and disingenuous excuse has been given as reasoning.
One client is brilliant, pays well and is a joy to work with; the other is a new client with dog-work that would pay all the bills.
For the former I have done everything I can to get cheap, or free, audio and have even paid out of my own pocket to help (big deal, I know). But I am angry at being put in this position. I have an audio guy who is very talented and I get him as much work as I can, but he too is fed up with an attitude that seems to be widespread...
Rant over - any thoughts?

wiremu

Return to posts index

Mark Suszko
Re: Asked to steal
on Aug 12, 2011 at 6:05:22 pm

So if I read this correctly, the client is telling you to use music without proper legal clearances for it?

Return to posts index

wiremu harpuka
on Aug 12, 2011 at 6:14:52 pm

Absolutely.

Return to posts index

wiremu harpuka
on Aug 12, 2011 at 6:19:57 pm

I wanted to add; not only that but they want me to find it and download, and or, find it and rip it.

Return to posts index

walter biscardi
on Aug 12, 2011 at 6:22:29 pm

The answer quite simply is "no."

If you do this then you are the one who is going to take the fall should it come back to bite you. You did the download, you ripped it into the format required for editing, you put it into the video...

In other words you are going to do everything illegal. Your client is simply asking you to do it, but they get no blame for it.

You have the choice to say no.

Walter Biscardi, Jr.