BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Wedding convention ideas?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
james parkerWedding convention ideas?
by on Jul 28, 2011 at 9:24:28 am

Okay so i pay 100 dollars get two chairs and a table at a wedding convention. I have two weddings... shot so far... two... i may have three by then but i havent confirmed not sure.

So i have little to show. I also have 1 competitor that will surely be there who has plenty to show. I am just starting out. I have 5 weddings booked throughout 2011. I have been drawing in customers with a facebook page and vendor listings on wedding sites.

The cost isnt what worries me. Im concerned i wont have much to offer. Two weddings. i can show highlight reels for. I can print out a pricing guide with contact info. but what else do i do? Do i offer anything? freebies? food? drink? idk? I have never been. Also should i even go? Is it worth it? are two weddings enough to display?

Thanks to you all of you who answer questions in this section!
I really appreciate it.
James Parker

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: Wedding convention ideas?
by on Jul 28, 2011 at 6:59:51 pm

Throw together some montages to music. Also, go interview some married couples in 2-shots, and ask them questions about their day, what they remember and what went wrong or right. Edit a short humorous piece around that. take a photog's wedding stills and montage that with animated moves. Play these on loops. Bring your shooting rig and set it up to dress up the table, dress as you would for the gig, so they can visualize you doing their gig.

Return to posts index

Steve MartinRe: Wedding convention ideas?
by on Jul 29, 2011 at 10:10:14 pm