BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Opinion on Promo Editor Salary

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Kevin ReynoldsOpinion on Promo Editor Salary
by on Jul 19, 2011 at 9:43:03 am

I want your guys's opinion on my salary.

I started with a contractor 5 years ago fresh to the AVID fresh to LA. However, I was an IT major and 4 year graduate of a big business school. I was technically apt to begin with and was already a FLASH programmer.

Anyways 3 years in I was already past my PA and Runner days and was editing all of the regional promos for FOX SPORTS for the entire country. I am a creative editor as well as the finisher. The contractor basically makes me do both since I'm the only editor there. Since FOX Sports doesn't have much creative staff on the lot, a group of us sit in a backyard with all of the high leve broadcast equipment and 4 AVIDS that any high end facility would have. I cut almost every team vs team spot that airs in every region of FOX SPORTS across the country, I also edit topical promos, as well as higher end commercials for sponsors.

What do you think my salary should be? Right now I am still down at the 300/day but thats cause I'm still at the same place after 5 years. However I'm the kind of editor that can finish and edit and produce. Something rare these days. I'm the same guy that will edit 19 promos, color correct them and finish them, and lay them to HD tape, day after day. At the same time I'm the guy performing pulldowns on footage, dealing with technical UNITY issues and any other video conversion tasks.