BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

should i incorporate???

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
james parkershould i incorporate???
by on Jul 18, 2011 at 9:27:42 pm

Okay first, I know nothing about business, which makes lots of sense since as soon as i graduated I started a production company haha.

Anyway, Im basically an independent, I have no staff and dont plan to have one for a long time. So it's just me, my camera, and my computer as well as other equipment. I work out of my home for now. I am focusing on wedding videography at the moment because thats all my equipment will allow me to shoot, event style videography, no lights or boom. So do i get a business license? or incorporate, or honestly i dont even know the right question.

Here's what i want to be established legally, pay taxes, etc.

What do i do now?

Return to posts index

Scott SheriffRe: should i incorporate???
by on Jul 18, 2011 at 10:22:43 pm

Incorporation has advantages, and disadvantages. A lot depends on the state you live in, where you incorp, and a million other things. You should really talk to your CPA, and ask yourself do I really need to.
The main reason most choose to do it is to shield personal assets from loss should your company get sued, or go broke. There are other reasons, but that would be one of the biggies unless you own a fleet of vehicles or want to hide your personal identity/credit (Nevada) from the business public, or need a 'presence' in a particular state to get contracts/jobs. Now if you don't really have a lot of personal assets to protect, a corp may not be worth all the other headaches it brings on. An LLC is supposed to do the same thing, but in most states, they are worthless and anyone suing your LLC can still go after your personal assets.
I'm not a lawyer, or a CPA, so YMMV.

Scott Sheriff