BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Any Recommendations on How to Make a Marketing Video

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Andrea WoogerdAny Recommendations on How to Make a Marketing Video
by on Jul 11, 2011 at 8:38:31 pm

I am brand new to video production and I need to make a marketing video for high-end engineering tools. Does anyone have any suggestions on classes I could take or online tutorials to look at for the basics on how to do this project? Basic tips are also appreciated.

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: Any Recommendations on How to Make a Marketing Video
by on Jul 11, 2011 at 9:36:02 pm

Get one of these books, stat:

the King:

http://www.amazon.com/Scriptwriting-High-Impact-Videos-Imaginative-Informat...

His book will tell you everything you need to know and more, a very good resource in the first or updated second edition. You can read it in a day, but you will profit from it for a lifetime. I did.

The Queen:

http://www.amazon.com/Corporate-Scriptwriting-Book-Donna-Matrazzo/dp/B000PC...

Matrazzo's book is old, but it is still a fast-paced, fun, easy to read and follow guide to the process, which hasn't changed all that much. Her book also gives good case study examples.

Return to posts index

Bill DavisRe: Any Recommendations on How to Make a Marketing Video
by on Jul 12, 2011 at 3:42:28 am

Hi Andrea,

It's a little like being asked to build a "car." There are a LOT of sub-systems and parts to consider.

A simple car - like a soap box derby racer - can be built in a week or so - using kit parts - and anyone with general skills can expect to be reasonably successful on their first time out.

Building a modern automobile like they do in Detroit, however, requires vast resources, years of design skills and huge amounts of time, effort and money.