BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Young(ish) Artist at Professional Crossroads

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Douglas Einar OlsenYoung(ish) Artist at Professional Crossroads
by on Jul 11, 2011 at 1:51:00 am

Hi Creative Cow-

Been looking for a community of professional artists to pose a dilema to. It's a bit of a Cake or Pie situation and I'm aware it's a fortunate place to be, but it makes the decision no less difficult.

I'm a visual artist with an eclectic background. 29 years old, studied Illustration in school, spent much time traveling, living/working abroad and exploring the boundaries of my creative interests. Been in NY for some time now supporting myself as an Art Handler while pursuing various projects, dabbling in many mediums. Done lot's of fun stuff and had a few professional gigs along the way but nothing permanent. Over time I've managed to cobble together a portfolio featuring mostly Animation, Art Direction and Production Art for Film/TV.

Lately I've found my work opportunities have been improving. Got a break about a year ago being hired to lead the animation department at a web start up and was finally able to stop Art Handling. Loved the job but it only lasted for about 9 months til the budget ran out. Around the same time I got a new gig doing a music video for an up'n'coming indie rock act. The video is nearly finished and my clients are pleased - so pleased that they want to commission a short film featuring their tunes. Other interesting freelance opportunities are coming forward as well. It seems I'm entering a new professional tier and have reached some sort of knee in the curve... but now I have a new option to consider.