BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Advice needed! Beginning After Effects artist

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Andrés Ricardo
Advice needed! Beginning After Effects artist
on Jun 8, 2011 at 3:12:21 am

I need some advice. Please forgive me if this is not the correct forum to post this question, but:

I'm a recent grad and have a job interview lined up at a post-production facility in LA. The position requires me to do relatively simple work, including rotoscoping, motion tracking, sky replacement, rig removal, and beauty work; I'll be working primarily in After Effects, which I have about 4 years of experience with.

The company has asked me, pre-interview, what my hourly rate is (I would start as a freelance artist). They've seen my reel and résumé and have liked them enough to schedule an interview. My question is: what is a reasonable starting rate to ask for?

Thanks for the insight, and again, I apologize if this is not the correct forum (re-direction to a more appropriate forum would be equally appreciated!).

Return to posts index

Chris Tompkins
Re: Advice needed! Beginning After Effects artist
on Jun 8, 2011 at 1:02:01 pm

This really varies from market to market. It is also based on your experience. What the market will bare.
Can you find out what the average Freelance rate is in LA?

Chris Tompkins
Video Atlanta LLC

Return to posts index

Rich Rubasch
on Jun 8, 2011 at 2:01:47 pm

It also depends if you will work on their system (typically less per hour) or at your own office on your system (more per hour).

$40-$60 per hour on their system to start.

$60-$125 per hour on your system.

Assuming someone who is just starting out in a decent market.

Rich Rubasch
Tilt Media Inc.
Video Production, Post, Studio Sound Stage
Founder/President/Editor/Designer/Animator
http://www.tiltmedia.com

Return to posts index

Mark Suszko