BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Public Domain Question

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Aaron Cadieux
Public Domain Question
on Jun 7, 2011 at 3:05:13 pm

If one buys a DVD of a movie that is in the public domain, does the company that transfered the film for THAT copy of the DVD own the rights to the content on that DVD? In other words, I know they don't own the copyright to the film itself, but does THEIR copy of the DVD fall under copyright as an artistic work derrived from a public domain source? Even if they don't make any artistic "changes" to the DVD? Thanks.

-Aaron

Return to posts index

Mark Suszko
Re: Public Domain Question
on Jun 7, 2011 at 3:28:26 pm

I am not a lawyer, but that's how I read and understand the law. You'd be copying, not the original, but someone else's work containing the original. A fine distinction, to be sure. Still, if you are asked in court where you got the footage, you need to be able to say you got it the same place the DVD producer got it.. Can you document that? If not, the DVD producer can say you're pirating his version of it.

Return to posts index

Richard Herd
on Jun 8, 2011 at 7:52:02 pm

[Aaron Cadieux] "If one buys a DVD of a movie that is in the public domain, does the company that transfered the film for THAT copy of the DVD own the rights to the content on that DVD?"

There's too many possible scenarios here to answer with only "yes" or "no." Generally speaking, there is no such thing as a work of art in the public domain. That is, the author of the work owns the copyright. Let me also mention that a ripped DVD is not public domain.

[Aaron Cadieux] " In other words, I know they don't own the copyright to the film itself, but does THEIR copy of the DVD fall under copyright as an artistic work derrived from a public domain source?"