BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Marketing! To cold call, walk in, email, or send a letter/proposal pkg

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
james parker
Marketing! To cold call, walk in, email, or send a letter/proposal pkg
on May 19, 2011 at 12:15:57 pm

First off, Hello. I am a recent graduate in Media/video production. I got an HMC 150 along with a tripod, dolly, bag, light extra batteries. I have a mic & stand and xlr cables. I am starting up a production company(out of my home while i continue to deliver pizzas :D) with an end goal of producing documentaries.
I have a bunch of small creative projects that i plan to pursue but these projects arent the ones that will pay the bills because i will work on them for cheap and possibly free because they are fun!

So i will be marketing myself as a wedding/recital videographer initially.

I have four choices that i know of to market myself cheap!
Cold call
Walk injust walk in and say hello.
Sales letter/pkgincluding business cards not like a sale paper but a letter introducing my company
Email same as above just in email format.

So i thought well maybe do a cold call, letter, and email. or replace cold call with walk in. But i dont want to aggravate my possible clients.

Here the message i want to send.
With recitals I would contact. Dance studios and other similar businesses.
Weddings i would contact. Everything connected with a wedding. the local venue's, dress shops, tux shops, flower shops, wedding planners, photographers(assuming they dont shoot video) possibly even caterers.

What works best for you?
Should i attempt multiple all at the same time? or try one then another then another?
or just stick with one?

Wishing you the best,
James Parker

Always looking for some critiques on my work... bored?
take a look!
http://www.vimeo.com/parkerproductions

Return to posts index

Richard Herd