BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Stolen Electronics?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Matt Paisley
Stolen Electronics?
on Apr 12, 2011 at 11:21:36 pm

I originally posted this in the Event Videography forum, and I was encouraged to post this here also...

I am new to CC, and if this is in the wrong forum, please redirect me. I tried to look, but couldn't find a better one. I put it here, because I am getting into event videography.

I came across someone selling a used HD video camera and a 100GB Firestore for a VERY reasonable price, considering the current asking prices that I have seen on eBay, Amazon, craigslist and the like. The price is so good, that I wonder if the merchandise is hot! Is there a way to check this out prior to purchase, so that I don't land myself into hot water later, when I try to get service or insurance?

Thanks in advance to all who respond!

Matt Paisley

Matt Paisley

Return to posts index

David Roth Weiss
Re: Stolen Electronics?
on Apr 13, 2011 at 5:57:45 pm

The rule of thumb is, "if it sounds too good...". Well, you know the rest.

The odds of getting caught are slim, but acquiring "hot " merchandize is, at the very least, bad karma. And, now that it's on the Net for the world to see, it's potentially NG for you in many other ways. Resist the temptation.

David Roth Weiss
Director/Editor/Colorist
David Weiss Productions, Inc.
Los Angeles
http://www.drwfilms.com

POST-PRODUCTION WITHOUT THE USUAL INSANITY ™

A forum host of Creative COW's Business & Marketing and Apple Final Cut Pro forums. Formerly host of the Apple Final Cut Basics, Indie Film & Documentary, and Film History & Appreciations forums.

Return to posts index

Steve Wargo
on Apr 15, 2011 at 7:24:01 am