BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

How important is your company's name?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Cory FisherHow important is your company's name?
by on Mar 28, 2011 at 1:20:57 pm

So, my wife and I have been working in production for 12 years each (she's a writer/producer, I'm an editor) and we're exploring the option of starting our own firm. There's a lot to consider and organize, of course, but here's a detail we've had some conversation about: What's in a name? I've seen so many production companies give themselves whimsical names like (and I'm making these up) 'Fruit Salad Productions' or 'Hot Tamale Filmworks'. Is there benefit, when building a business, to grabbing attention to yourself with a catchy name? Is 'Fisher Productions' too utilitarian compared to 'Awesome Sauce Media Solutions'? We want to do good work for good clients. Assuming that our product compares to anyone else's as far as quality and service, should we consider a more "exciting" name? Thanks.

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: How important is your company's name?
by on Mar 28, 2011 at 2:32:53 pm

Names that are too cryptic bug me. A good name can have some whimsy but IMO should in the end still identify something of what the company does.

Return to posts index

Nick GriffinRe: How important is your company's name?
by on Mar 28, 2011 at 2:37:19 pm

Todd?? You probably have some of the best insight into this out of the many people here.

I named my company what I did all those years ago because I had a core following of clients who were coming over because it was me. The result was such a generic name that there are several with the same name sprinkled across the country.