BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Unusual Producing situation

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Dan McCainUnusual Producing situation
by on Mar 8, 2011 at 1:13:29 pm

Through my production company I have been shooting and producing projects for the past 10 years. I have stumbled upon a situation that is unusual and I would like some advice about how to proceed.

There is a person who helps get me jobs from time to time, we can call him an informal agent. The unusual thing about this person is they not only help get the projects from a sales perspective but then like to get involved in the creative and production process even though they have no background or real experience in this field. Often times is becomes frustrating to have a "pseudo client" who has very strong opinions about the direction and details of a project while not being the person who pays for changes they suggest etc. Anyway I constantly try to set boundaries and teach them about production but they typically dont "get it". I have been tolerating this because they have been quite helpful bringing great projects to the table. I have a very good track record of delivering projects on time and typically under budget.

Now to the specific issue: He has landed funding on a good documentary project with a budget and proposal that I developed and my production company attached to produce it. Because the funder knows "the agent" they have given him the money to manage the project as an executive producer and he is hiring my production company to produce it.