BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Producer or just passing out numbers?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Richard HerdProducer or just passing out numbers?
by on Mar 1, 2011 at 7:59:42 pm

At what point do I say "No, I can't give you any numbers/contacts unless I'm charging a producer's fee?"

Thanks!
Rich

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: Producer or just passing out numbers?
by on Mar 1, 2011 at 8:08:49 pm

At the point you think this is a legit customer?

Return to posts index

Nick GriffinRe: Producer or just passing out numbers?
by on Mar 1, 2011 at 8:26:39 pm

I think it all comes down to how you are managing the process. You should consider saying things like, "Funny you should ask. Assembling and effectively utilizing resources is the business I'm in." Or, "Why don't you let me help with this? It is, after all, my what I do for a living." Or, if it gets really pointed and this is a particularly dense prospect who you have determined is simply trying to just get information from you, "Wow. If I didn't know better I'd think you want to be my competitor."

Return to posts index

Fernando MolRe: Producer or just passing out numbers?
by on Mar 1, 2011 at 8:44:26 pm

"As a healthy practice for my business, I don't do that"

And went to the next topic.

Return to posts index

Richard HerdRe: Producer or just passing out numbers?
by on Mar 1, 2011 at 11:29:04 pm

I've already spent 4 hours in phone calls, over 4 weeks. How much discussion should I have with the client before it seems ridiculous? 4 hours in 4 weeks seems ridiculous, but what do I know, maybe that's normal. Is it?

Return to posts index

Mike SmithRe: Producer or just passing out numbers?
by on Mar 1, 2011 at 11:41:22 pm