BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

A Rant

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Mick HaenslerA Rant
by on Mar 1, 2011 at 2:36:00 pm

We've all made mistakes in how we conduct business over the years, No one is perfect especially not me. I have a situation that admittedly I brought on myself that simply wont' go away. Here tis...

I used to do a lot of live event production and would get a bit of work from this one sound company. One job in particular turned into 2 yearly events that I've been doing for many years now. I don't do a lot of live events anymore(since....the incident....) but have kept this client because the events were simple and paid pretty good. 3 years ago, the principle in the organization came to me and said they were tight that year and could I work with them. The event involved 2 rear projection screens(10,000 lumen projectors), 2 cameras live switched, creation of 50 or so lower thirds and Powerpoint integration. Easily done with a crew of 3 over a 10 hour day including set up and tear down for which I charged him $3000. A fair price I thought. He needed to shave $1000 off cost so we took it down to one screen and I joined the organization for $500 instead of lowering the price which sets a bad precedent. Same end result for the client and good PR for me. Later that year at another event I do for them, we were discussing the other event when he told me the sound company had not played ball and cut their price when asked. My client was none to happy about it and asked if I knew anyone who might be able to do it cheaper so I gave him a number and asked him to please be discrete since I was still acquaintences with the sound contractor. He didn't.