BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Giving away your product

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Simon Roughan
Giving away your product
on Jan 31, 2011 at 12:22:56 pm

Hi everybody, first time I've posted on this forum, but I read it regularly, and can't think of a better source of advice for my situation.
I am a producer at a regional tv station in Europe. When I started here 6 years ago, all the commercials were made with lots of trouble, ie camera team, full production, editing etc etc. Then I came along, and introduced them to a new way to make content; Fast and dirty (but still good quality!) with AE and C4D etc.
I am also an experienced cameraman, but sometimes when a customer has a low budget, its easier to get a logo and a couple of pics, and make something cool in post-pro from them. This caused a small revolution in our production workflow, and everybody was happy.
Fast forward to now. Nearly every single spot we now produce is only composited picture material. And made for nothing (no-budget).
I have read here how you guys in cable tv stations in the states also produce spots for nix, and make the money from the air-time costs. I appreciate how this works as a purely economic principle. But in my opinion, it is absolutely ruining the market. Its not that I can (am allowed to)produce crap in an hour or so, the spots are still expected to be high quality. But finished in a half day etc.
The sales people always argue with me that "this is the market! We have to compete with radio - newspapers for the advertising money from companys! When a radio spot costs just 50 bucks to make, we cant say to a customer we make a spot for 1000! If we have to sell a spot for what its worth, we can all go home. Blah blah blah"