BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Freelance Billing Time for a Day and Weekly Rate

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
John Grote, Jr.Freelance Billing Time for a Day and Weekly Rate
by on Jan 26, 2011 at 12:08:01 pm

Good day all,

Once again this question rears its ugly head. I work in the DC Metro Area and not that I am new to the area itself, I am new to the full time freelance world and trying to get a gauge of what people are basing their day rate on. I have always based my day rate as an editor (Online/Finishing Editor) at 8 hours or 8.5 with some sort of lunch break and a little give room if it goes over. I am also an Offline Editor and I have a feeling that may go at a different rate and hourly time. The one thing I see more and more being a freelancer is there is no standard and I it seems to me that there should be some baseline for us to be able to negotiate our rates with any client. I know that there are many, many variables that go into what we do, but hell a day rate shouldn't be that hard to agree upon?

So all of that being said, how do any/all of you (for the most part) base your day? For Online/Finishing Editorial? Offline Editorial? Half Day and Overtime? For grins, Travel if need be?

Thanks for any and all of the responses I may get!!!

Cheers,

John Grote, Jr.

Return to posts index

Jeremy DoyleRe: Freelance Billing Time for a Day and Weekly Rate
by on Jan 26, 2011 at 4:00:21 pm

I'm staff for a company, but when I do freelance (3 or 4 times a year) I charge 1k-10hr day editing on my equipment or $600 a day + expenses to edit on yours. Those are my costs for editing, shooting or graphics.

I should also mention that my cost of living expenses are no where near what they are in DC.

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: Freelance Billing Time for a Day and Weekly Rate
by on Jan 26, 2011 at 4:07:14 pm