BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Sell out? Or stick to my principals and lose my modest salary and benefits?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Michael Mahoney Jr.
Sell out? Or stick to my principals and lose my modest salary and benefits?
on Jan 8, 2011 at 10:10:47 pm

The below post appears in the "Corporate Video" section of COW. I was advised to repost here for potentially better feedback.

--My original "Corporate Video" post on Fri. Jan 7, 2011--
Ohhhh, boy. I think I just walked out on my salary and benefits today. I need some support and recommendations.

In Short:
Today, I had to make the big choice you sometimes hear about: Stick to my principals, or "sell out" to keep my salary and benefits?
My employer asked me to sign a restrictive Invention Assignment Agreement (potentially sign away rights to my private work.)

In Long:
I am a videographer/editor/producer for a large bicycle accessory retailer (actually, a similar type of industry.) I shoot and edit videos promoting the bicycle accessories that we sell, as well as event coverage, corporate interviews and the myriad media-related tasks given to the "in-house media guy." (My job description states: Videographer and Copywriter.)

Regardless, we were recently purchased by an even larger company within the industry.

I am now being asked to sign a very restrictive, very generic Invention Assignment Agreement. This agreement states that they own any invention (read: video/film/artwork/text) I create which "relates to the Company's current or contemplated business or activities;"

To me, this reads that if I create any movie/film related to bicycles and bicycling that they could claim ownership.

I am an avid bicyclist and bicycling fan, and I love getting paid to make videos about the products and events/people in the industry. Dream job, right?