BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Predicament: Rights to Logo

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Steven Woods
Predicament: Rights to Logo
on Jan 7, 2011 at 12:41:13 am

Hello,

I am a novice video editor/producer.
I have been working on a DVD project for some time now and am looking for a little advice.

The DVD is a boxing instructional video led by an ex-professional boxer that is designed to help people learn the basics of boxing in the comfort of their own homes.

The issue that has me pulling my hair out is that for the first one minute of the video there are products in the shot that have the logos completely exposed.

There are three possibilities here and I will explain each.
1: Blur out the logos.
I have already spent about two days working this through but it is proving quite challenging and time consuming as the bag and gloves move a bunch and motion tracking is proving very difficult since the bag becomes distorted with every hit. Two things here, is there a company that does this alone and would it be cost effective?

2: Get the rights to the logos.
There are two different companies involved here. One for the bag and one for the gloves. If this is the way you would recommend, please provide advice on how to go about this. I have never had to deal with this before as I strive to create my own content.

3: Re-shoot the scene.
The scene came out how we wanted it and that is why this is a hard decision. The talent does not act and has a hard time doing the same scene twice in the same way.
However, we thought we were going to need the bag and gloves again so we did already tape over the logos in a fashion that is not obtrusive and covers them well.

Other information that would be useful:
The project has been going on for about a year and a half and needs to be finished soon (hopefully by Feb.).