BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Opinions? 8mm to DVD

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Ryan Johnson
Opinions? 8mm to DVD
on Dec 21, 2010 at 6:36:35 pm

My next door neighbor has a ton of 8mm film that he wants to transfer to DVD. He sent me a link to a company to do this and I'd like your opinion. This company is frightening people. First of all, professionals already know this info. Second, ordinary people just want a transfer, they don't need to know about this technical info nor care about it. You only have hours if your film smells like vinegar!!!
Check it out and give me your opinion. http://www.film-to-video.com/index.html

Return to posts index

Mike Cohen
Re: Opinions? 8mm to DVD
on Dec 21, 2010 at 6:57:24 pm

That website is funny. "Because I have a computer science degree, we were the first to go digital!"

The writing style and really long pages seem to be inspired by MLM scheme websites and/or conspiracy theory websites.

Mini DV is about the best quality of video available today, so this guy must be doing something right! :)

Mik Cohen

Return to posts index

Todd Terry
on Dec 21, 2010 at 7:26:27 pm

He's also "very" big on the "unnecessary" use of "quote" marks that seem to be "thrown" in at wildly "inappropriate" times... something that "always" makes me simultaneously "laugh," "cry," and "shake" my head.

And is usually not the hallmark of someone who should be taken too overly seriously.

T2

fantasticplastic.com

Return to posts index

Ryan Johnson
on Dec 21, 2010 at 8:24:21 pm

I haven't seen these films. I can imagine half of them are of Great Grandmother's Shoes or the ceiling with a case of the photographer's shaky, palsy video. They just want to see what's on the film. Broadcast quality is not needed. They are just home movies... I said, "Let's just project them and shoot them with our broadcast cameras."