BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Student building reel for internship applications

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
David SikesStudent building reel for internship applications
by on Oct 27, 2010 at 1:58:02 pm

Hello! I've posted before on this forum for advice and ideas, and I've always been very grateful for the responses I get.

I'm a student at the University of Alabama in media production, and internship time is quickly coming my way. I'm working on a reel right now to be able show with my resume.

I have material for DP/videography, motion graphics and color grading - about 4-5 minutes worth of material.

For those of you who see student reels and hire students as interns, what do you like to see as a reel: Should I break these into separate short reels, or make one longer reel (around 4 minutes)?

Thank you for your help and advice!

- David Sikes

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: Student building reel for internship applications
by on Oct 27, 2010 at 2:11:17 pm

Frankly, my feeling is that an intern shouldn't be judged too highly on their reel. The point of an internship after all is to get better, so a reel that is *too* good out of the box may make the applicant look over-qualified.

I would keep it short and simple, show only your very best in a single reel. Multiple reels with targeted collections are for established guys pitching to specific jobs. Do not take credit for anything not yours, and throw in a small lower-third disclaimer on footage that might be misinterpreted as yours. Don't show me templated material someone else made that you just dropped a clip onto. These are the same sins as copy-pasting a wikipedia entry word for word and submitting it as your own term paper. Also put the reel up on youtube and/or vimeo, and have a card or something to hand out with the links.