BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

"Fair" Compensation

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
David Burkart"Fair" Compensation
by on Oct 1, 2010 at 4:47:21 pm

*Sorry mods - I tried posting this in "Art of the Edit" before seeing this forum.*

So I've been writing for this company for several months and recently shot+edited a documentary-style (10 minute) short for them. They loved it and want more. I said we could work out "fair compensation" and they replied w/ an offer of $50/video.

This probably took 2 hours to shoot and 2 to edit, though I'm convinced that I could whittle the process down to 1.5-2 hours for the process. (They're like brief snippet-profiles on "green" homeowners)

1) I want "fair" compensation as a recent college grad, but more than that I want to build my portfolio. (I have two other part-time gigs for rent $)
2) I don't want to reply with a higher proposal (say, $75) and have them walk away altogether

Please help! I should probably respond to their offer by today.

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: "Fair" Compensation
by on Oct 1, 2010 at 5:01:06 pm

$50 each is ridiculous; at least working at McDonald's you get a snappy looking paper hat, name tag, free or discounted meal out of it plus your minimum wage. Even a beginner fresh out of college has *some* training as opposed to them doing this themselves.

I think your options are to charge $200 a pop or charge nothing at all, and work out some other kind of arrangement, like they buy you some gear as a trade-out.