BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

In-House Editor salary rates at post houses...

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Meredith Cruse
In-House Editor salary rates at post houses...
on Sep 24, 2010 at 11:50:46 pm

Hi,

I am a producer in Los Angeles with years of experience producing indie shorts and corporate videos. I am helping a friend of mine evaluate a company that he may acquire. We both know production and know post production rates, but only on a project basis like
hourly and weekly rates.

I am looking for the range of salaries for in-house
editors (like ones who work at a post house full time with benefits not project contingent) ranging from offline Avid and FCP cutters with Motion Graphics experience to Smoke finishers. And if by chance you have assistant editor rates as well that would be greatly appreciated. Due to labor laws, we are not allowed to ask what the company currently pays its employees. It is strictly for our own education and not to be published or quoted.

I know this can be a sticky subject and I don't mean to offend, I'm just looking for some ball park figures so we know what we're getting into.

If you feel more comfortable emailing off list please do so at Meredith@frameproductions.com.

Thanks so much for your help.

Cheers,
Meredith

Return to posts index

Rich Rubasch
Re: In-House Editor salary rates at post houses...
on Sep 25, 2010 at 1:51:43 am

Madison, WI. 250,000 people. Midwest.

$38,000 - $90,000

Based on reel, potential clients who will follow, client draw and ability to work with a wide range of project types and client types.

Low whining factor a huge plus.

Uses the keyboard more than the mouse, add $10k per year.

After Effects and Photoshop experience, add another $10k.

Midwest dollars.

Rich Rubasch
Tilt Media Inc.
Video Production and Post
Owner/President/Editor/Designer/Animator