BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Perception and exactly what is wrong in our industry

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
John Grote, Jr.Perception and exactly what is wrong in our industry
by on Sep 13, 2010 at 11:26:40 am

This posting to me sums up a lot of what is wrong with the outside worlds perception of what we do. I am so tired and frustrated (knowing that I can't change this, but none the less). Also, the buzz words that these employment bots use to screen for potential candidates. UGH!!! And for those people that have gotten a degree, I applaud you, but I have been doing this for over 23 years now, and I don't need a damn degree to do what I do. I have the experience and scars to prove it.

Why do people and companies think we know how to operate every single piece of equipment and also be proficient in operation said equipment. Below is one of those wonderful postings. I'm damn good a couple of things, but give me a break

ESSENTIAL DUTIES AND RESPONSIBILITIES

Edit training lessons using Final Cut Studio version 7
Deliver final output on DVD using DVD Studio Pro
Operate DVD duplication and labeling equipment
Edit training lessons using Microsoft Producer, Articulate Presenter, and Adobe Captivate toolsets.
Create simulations and multiple outcome training modules using Adobe Captivate.
Develops complex branching and remediation applications using Adobe Captivate.
Integrates video, audio, slides and Captivate content into a lesson with Articulate Presenter.
Creating video animations for use in opens, promos, IDs etc. using Final Cut Pro, After Effects, Live Type, or Motion
Edit screen captures using Camtasia v.6
Support other IVT staff members with daily operation of broadcast studios
Ability to work with high level executives such as the Commissioner of SSA, Deputy and Associate Commissioners

REQUIRED SKILLS AND EDUCATION