BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Can anyone recommend Proposal software for Mac?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Ned MillerCan anyone recommend Proposal software for Mac?
by on Sep 8, 2010 at 7:53:42 pm

I am creating a large estimate/proposal for a major corporation to produce three videos and I need to up my game. As a DP I use QuickBooks Pro's estimate form but that looks like a carpenter's estimate to build a porch. When I do producing bids I have used Word's Office 2008 for Mac but it basically looks like well, a Word document, and I'm no expert at Word. So...

Does anyone know of an off-the-shelf program for Mac that can really pimp up (color, timelines, etc.) a proposal? Then I can add impressive covers. It would be great if I can then convert it to a PDF also.

Thanks!

Return to posts index

Mike CohenRe: Can anyone recommend Proposal software for Mac?
by on Sep 8, 2010 at 8:14:35 pm

We do our pricing estimates in Excel - but the client never sees this. Once we do the excel worksheet we know what our actual costs are, and what our minimum price will be. Then we break it down into milestones, deliverables and line items and write our proposal using...wait for it....MS Word.
People don't want a fancy shmancy proposal with colors and pie charts - they want to know how much it will cost them and what they will get and when they will get it. Just be descriptive enough to get the point across and brief enough that they will actually read it. They will first go to the last page and look at the price, then maybe go back and read.
Focus on the message - don't let the tail wag the dog.
Mike Cohen

Return to posts index

Ned MillerRe: Can anyone recommend Proposal software for Mac?
by on Sep 8, 2010 at 11:06:04 pm