BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Student seeking advice: What do you look for on a resume?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
David Sikes
Student seeking advice: What do you look for on a resume?
on Aug 18, 2010 at 6:43:49 pm

Hello! I've posted on this forum before, but to introduce myself again: I'm a student at the University of Alabama in media production. As I continue my education and further my work experience, I'm constantly seeking out internship opportunities and also thinking often about what lies ahead, as I'm only a couple of years away from hitting the door and seeking employment.

Last time I posted I was humbled by the helpful, thorough responses I received, and I certainly am very grateful for any wisdom or advice that can be shared on this matter!

As I seek out new opportunities to get experience, and build my resume, I wanted to ask this: for those of you who may hire production folk out of college, or who take on interns in college, what do you look for on a resume? What sort of experience, skills, or background sticks out to you in a college grad seeking employment? What about applications for internships?

Thank you so much for any help you can give on this matter. I look forward to your replies!

- David

- David Sikes

Return to posts index

Mike Cohen
Re: Student seeking advice: What do you look for on a resume?
on Aug 18, 2010 at 7:24:29 pm

Don't spell anything wrong on your resume!

Seriously, coming out of college, you generally will not have much to show for yourself, except perhaps some student work and what you say about yourself - so put your best foot forward - but don't exaggerate.

If you put "Photoshop" or "Final Cut" on your resume, make sure you know those inside out.